top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTroyee Lahiri

1 year of Foreign Beaver in Canada

I started this blog on my 5th anniversary of coming to Canada and today marks the 6th year. Not a lot has changed in the last 52 weeks. When I started last year, I didn’t believe that I would be consistent with it. I struggle a lot with discipline, especially when it comes to self-care and this blog is a form of self-care for me. It takes my mind off the parts of my life I don’t like and keeps me busy. Writing, editing, and planning have become an inherent part of my routine now. I’ve never used the “Notes” app on my phone so much and it has been quite emotionally fulfilling. My posts are long. Not a lot of people read them - maybe I wouldn’t have either if I were on the other side. But that’s not the point. Because I’m not doing it for others. I’m solely doing this for myself and in that process, if someone, somewhere resonates with me, I’ll count that as a win.

I’ve recently heard the news of two very young deaths - wasn’t close to them personally but I knew them through social media. Being who I am, it took me days to make my peace with it and I couldn’t help but realize how temporary all of this is. I don’t know if I have the time to do everything that I want to. None of us do. But while thinking about all this, what brought a smile to my face was when I realized that my blog will stay even if I don’t. My thoughts and feelings will always be there for others to read. For them to know me, even when I’m gone. And that alone is inspiration enough for me to continue. If you’re still reading this, thank you for all the support. I’m taking time off to come back with some fresh perspective. But this time, it will be with blog posts only on the last Wednesdays of every month. I realized I’m writing more than I’m reading and I would rather have it the other way. So this is my attempt at trying to create some balance. I hope to see you in the second year of this journey. With gratitude, ForeignBeaverinCanada




25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page