top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTroyee Lahiri

Conversations that they wish they could have with their parents




A few weeks ago, I posted a question on my personal Instagram and my blog's Facebook page which asked " What are some topics you wish you could talk to your elders/parents more openly about?"

In today's post, I would like to share with you the responses I have received.


*Trigger warning: The list might have emotionally sensitive content*

  • Domestic abuse

  • Sexual abuse

  • Menstruation, reproductive health

  • Unwanted pregnancy, abortion before or after marriage

  • Sexual identity and preference

  • Inter-faith, inter-cultural relationship

  • Live-in relationship

  • Agnostic or atheist views

  • Different political opinion and beliefs

  • Toxic beauty and body standards

  • Failures - academic, professional, personal.

My heart broke a little while writing this. Thank you to the brave souls who were kind enough to share. Acknowledgment is a very important part of the recovery process. It doesn't make you ungrateful, it doesn't make you a bad person.


To anyone who can relate to the list, take my love and know that you are not alone. I hope your heart heals and you can break the cycle when it is your turn as a parent.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page