top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTroyee Lahiri

Memories of the holidays


If I continue blogging for long enough, you will realize that I am very fond of the holiday season (I even changed my blogging site’s theme and my laptop’s wallpaper at the beginning of the month). I love everything about Christmas, and you can tell the excitement comes from the fact that I did not have access to such a warm, nice festival for most of my life. Religious festivals in India or Bangladesh are colorful, loud, and grand. There is praying, wearing glamorous clothes, food, lots of sweets and nowadays, pictures. Eid, Durga Puja, Diwali was always celebrated in grandeur whereas 25th December used to be just another day of the winter holidays.


I told my family before coming to Canada that I wanted to spend my first Christmas here instead of visiting them. So, as you can guess, I was very excited even though I did not have many friends at the time but when did that ever stop me? I am very good at partying by myself and I always choose my own company over surrounding myself with people for superficial socializing. I attended the Santa Parade that year with two of my friends who maybe did not like it as much, but I found it very cute and am glad that I had company. I will make the Santa Parade a ritual when I have a kid because I will not lose sleep, feed, and bear the expenses of a child who does not like Christmas. Just kidding. Or maybe not…


Apart from loving the decorations at malls and the plethora of Christmas merchandise at every possible store, I found it very wholesome when I saw families line up with their toddlers for their yearly photos with Santa. On Christmas eve, a friend and I went to Nathan Phillip’s square to hang out, see the lights and that was the end to my very unglamorous celebrations. December 25th was very quiet. It snowed and I stayed in watching Grey’s Anatomy in pajamas and my fresh, fuzzy socks. No crazy Christmas party stories to reminisce and entertain you with, unfortunately.


Christmas breaks in the years that followed were full of warmth and fun. I had my best friend visiting me from Alberta in 2016, my sister visited me in 2017 and in 2018, I bought matching Christmas sweaters for me and my cousins to celebrate with them in India. 2019 was the first Christmas that I celebrated with my partner alone and we decorated our first, mini, tree together, exchanged small gifts, and watched Home Alone wearing Santa hats.


As much as I love the festivities, I do know how lonely this time of the year can get for some people. Even a coffee run to Tim Hortons can make you sad when you see the Christmas themed cups and donuts. Most international students go home for Christmas break but some of them don’t and for them, their dorms and cities feel a lot lonelier than usual. Moreover, with the pandemic this year, lots of families have lost their dear ones and Santa can’t visit some children because their parents are having a hard time making ends meet.


The extreme monetization of the festival has overshadowed the true meaning and purpose of Christmas. If you think hard enough, you don’t need half the things that the clothing or beauty products store is giving holiday discounts on. This year might not be our usual Christmas but once things get back to normal, we need to rethink the way we celebrate. Exchange gifts for the tradition but make sure it's economical. Light up our homes but not splurge on outdoor decorations, not waste food and other practices that are more sensitive, humble, and less luxurious. We need to remember that the holiday season is for gratitude, joy and most importantly spending time doing what we enjoy, be that alone or with others.


So, if you have read so far, please take some time this holiday to rest and be proud of yourself for surviving 2020. Reflect on positive changes you would like to see in yourself and your surroundings post-pandemic and slowly start working towards them. Support local businesses because they need us more than ever now. If you can, donate clothes, food, and other essentials or make monetary donations to a cause of your choice. Send a thank-you card to that front-line worker relative or friend you haven’t spoken to in years and send virtual hugs to everyone you miss this holiday season. And most importantly, stay warm and don’t let Santa in your house if he is not wearing a face mask.


With love and season's greetings.

Yours, ForeignBeaverinCanada




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page