top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTroyee Lahiri

To work or just study?

Studying in Canada as an international student can be very expensive which is why the USA is a more popular destination for studying abroad in South Asia. However, where Canada wins in attracting international students is the guaranteed 3-year Post-Graduation work permit that is given once the students complete their degree.

While in university, I have worked in multiple student service roles where I saw there were a common struggle and confusion among many students about balancing work and studies. Shifting from high school to university is a jump that no one really prepares us for. In university, irrespective of whether you are a domestic or international student, finances become a very important deciding element in every step of the way. So, in today’s post, I am going to discuss some factors that can help one decide whether they should work while they are studying.





1. Your current financial situation:


If you need money to provide for yourself and get through university, not working is not an option. If you have decided to invest time and money to a degree, you will also have to make sure you provide yourself with the resources to do so. A decent nutritious diet and a safe roof above your head are the two most basic things you want to take care of. For that, if you must take a gap year or take fewer course loads in a semester, please do so. It would be counterproductive if you overwork for the money and end up failing a class so please make sure you don’t bite off more than you can chew. You don’t have to finish that degree in four years so jeopardizing your physical or mental health is not worth it at any point. If you are an international student, please consult the international student center in your institution to ensure you are not exceeding your permitted hours of work while on a study permit.


2. Your field of study and future plans:


International students have 3 options after graduation – going back home, working in Canada, going to graduate school. Things can change over the course of 4/5 years but the sooner you start thinking about it, the better. When you have a rough idea about your next step, it helps you make decisions in the present. There is a lot to consider before choosing one of the 3 options I mentioned above. For e.g. you could be someone who wants to go back to your home country with some Canadian work experience. You could also be in a field where post-graduation studies require you to work before you apply. It’s okay to not have the answers to everything at first but once you get mentally settled in your university life, having these discussions with peers, mentors, professors, or your family members is very important. This applies to domestic students too.


If you are close to graduation but still unsure of the next steps, it's okay. You will have a lot of spare time once you get that degree. Take that time to do your research, seek help from alumni resources and ask yourself what is it that you really want to do next. It's better to take time to find that answer than rushing into something that is not meant for you. I know it might feel like you are falling behind in the race, but this race is an illusion that feeds on your insecurities. Even if you realize it was a bad decision later, take accountability and move on. Unless you have dependants, you are not answerable to anyone when you make choices about your own career.


3. Your personality:


If you are someone like me who likes to live with her books, be quiet and invisible in classrooms, the idea of working may not be the most enticing. Now, this can work either way. I am not a preacher of “Getting out of one’s comfort zone” because as someone who struggles with anxiety, I find myself more productive in my comfort zone. But I will admit that university is a lot safer to broaden your horizons than high school. You have a lot more freedom to be who you are without the fear of being judged. If you pay attention to who you are as a person, you will naturally start doing things that make you happy. It can be working in your local grocery store or spending sleepless nights studying or doing both. The key is balancing. You must find a balance in how you allocate your time and energy while keeping your physical and mental health in check.


 

My personal journey:


I did not consider working until I was in the second semester of my second year when I was well-settled with my life here. I was privileged enough to have that choice. Being in a business program where most students were doing Co-op, I was uncomfortable with the idea of attending networking events, so I stuck to my non-co-op program and decided to find work elsewhere by taking my own time. I started to volunteer and my first paid job (that was not tutoring) was working as a cashier at my campus bookstore. Even though there were times of self-doubt, I continued to take jobs that came my way and build my resume. There were days when my productivity at studies and work were impressive and there were also days where I was overwhelmed to the point of a mental breakdown.




Maybe my grades would be better if I hadn’t worked multiple jobs or maybe they wouldn’t. We will never know. There will always be better students getting perfect grades, other employees having better work experiences, or getting higher pay. What is important is to focus on your own needs and growth. Give yourself time to learn what works the best for you so that you can thrive in your own story.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page