top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTroyee Lahiri

What international students eat : My journey

Phase 1: “I am in full control of my meals for the first time in my life so I will have cereals for dinner just because I can”


I had a tower of pizza boxes in my living room by the end of my second semester which pretty much sums up my eating habits. There was no particular routine for my meals. I resorted to food on campus, frozen meals from the grocery stores, and occassional restaurant dinners. I used to eat a lot of breakfast food for my dinners because they were easy to make and filling at the same time. I had little interest in cooking and would barely have time because I was so busy adjusting to everything else that was going on. All I knew was buying groceries is cheaper than eating out, so I tried to be somewhat regular with the grocery runs.


 

Phase 2: “I miss the food that I have eaten my entire life – need to figure out my food situation if I want to stay healthy”


I had relatives whom I’d occasionally visit and sometimes they were kind enough to pack me some food. It felt a little awkward but it also felt nice to have this rare access to food that I ate for 20 years of my life. I started to get busier with studies and meals started to become a problem. Luckily, at that point, I made a Bengali friend whose mother had a catering business. She had excellent cooking skills like most mothers from my culture and it was such a relief to eat home-cooked food on a regular basis.

My friend’s mother eventually stopped the catering business and I was only getting busier with part-time work and studies. I found myself another small catering company that served North Indian food - it wasn’t Bengali food but I had to manage because options were limited. Their food was extremely rich in spices & oil and I eventually realised that this wasn’t a sustainable option either.


 

Phase 3: “All options exhausted. I need to learn how to cook”


I was extremely overwhelmed and didn’t know where to start. I slowly started buying spices and teaching myself recipes that are easy and sustainable. I made sure I have eggs & potatoes at home all the time so if anything went wrong, or if I were too busy, I could at least eat some scrambled eggs and potatoes. Instant noodles, frozen meatballs, and “parathas” ( South Asian fried flatbread - similar to a tortilla) were also a regular part of my meals. And from there, I gradually started experimenting and learning Bengali dishes.



It's been a few years and I have developed cooking instincts that only come with time. I am still very insecure about cooking for others and I don't have the confidence or utensils to cook for more than 4 people. For my own meals, I rarely have more than 2 dishes cooked at a time and I also freeze stuff if I overcook to avoid repetitive meals and to also ensure the food stays fresh. There are occasional store-bought frozen food dinners. I also try not to eat out for more than 2 or 3 meals a week because it's not healthy and obviously, it saves money.


I’ve come a VERY long way from Phase 1 & there are times when I’m super impressed with myself. The only other goals right now are to learn more dishes to keep my tummy entertained, and MAYBE in a few years down the line, be confident enough to cook for a small village

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page